Skip to content

Alex Cox, Emilio Estevez and Me

May 25, 2009

Somehow I ended up in the middle of a feud I didn’t think anyone would care about at this point. I guess feelings still run strong about Repo Man in a way I didn’t suspect. Here’s what happened: Alex Cox was scheduled to appear at the Alamo Drafthouse here in Austin last week, introducing his new film Searchers 2.0, the spaghetti western Arizona Colt, and his classic Repo Man. I interviewed him for Decider, and in the course of our conversation, he made some comments about Emilio Estevez dropping out of the planned Repo Man sequel Waldo’s Hawaiian Holiday.

By the time my interview with Cox ran, he was already a no-show for the screenings, as I explained here. My guess is that Emilio Estevez has a Google Alert that notifies him when an article with his name attached is published (no shame in that – I have one myself). Anyway, Estevez emailed me the night the Cox interview ran, detailing his side of the story. I let my Decider editor Sean O’Neal know about the email, and was a little surprised to learn that he wanted to run it as a rebuttal to the Cox piece. Over the next few days, I negotiated with Estevez, who wasn’t sure if he wanted his email published; on the one hand, he wanted his side of the story out there – on the other hand, he didn’t want to come off as Mr. Sour Grapes.

After exchanging a few emails with him, it was clear that my powers of persuasion left something to be desired, so I emailed Sean O’Neal with Estevez’s email address in case he wanted to give it a shot. And I guess he was successful, because the response ran on Friday.

I dunno what the moral of the story is, but it sure was weird to be in the middle of all this. Maybe there’ll be a surprise reunion and that sequel will get made after all. But I doubt it.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. billgoldman permalink

    I’ve just came across this… as a long term Cox fac, I’ve researched it to find the truth.

    Cox included contemporary documentation with his PDF script… ( page 117 of the PDF
    (http://www.alexcox.com/pdfs/WALDO_6.pdf) reveals Estevez has ‘passed’ on the script.

    It does contradict Cox’s assertion that Estevez wasn’t bankable at the time, or that he had ever accepted the project, but Cox has obviously included it in the PDF because that was when funding fell away – it was the death knell of the project. Estevez appears to have made no comments on the script in rejecting it – notably, not suggesting changes/notes.

    • http://www.villagevoice.com/2009-08-04/film/interview-director-alex-cox-on-his-long-awaited-non-sequel-repo-chick/

      Wow! I always had respect for Alex Cox and was grateful to have worked with him. Check out this bitter and petty exchange in the Village Voice this week. The writer tried to stick up for me and Alex was having none of it. What a douche bag! Desperate men do and say desperate things. I was respectful and polite in my last letter to Decider – seems Alex took the low road. I suppose people will say and do anything to get press on themselves – i suppose this clown needs it more than ever to boost his ego. Good luck, Al. Always thought you were better than than that.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “Wisdom” (1986), with Emilio Estevez « Hidden Films

Leave a Reply

