Skip to content

The Incident

May 14, 2009

I don’t think I’ve fully digested the Lost season finale, mainly because I finished watching it at about 2 a.m. after a night of poker, which is generally accompanied by quantities of beer. So here are just a few scattered thoughts about it:

• I mentioned somewhere that I was half-expecting a Beneath the Planet of the Apes ending, and, well…close enough. It’s the sort of cliffhanger that lets the writers pick up at just about any point they want when the next and final season eventually gets here. I thought it might go on for another minute or so, and we’d see the characters getting off their Oceanic 815 flight safe and sound in LA, maybe with a last-second shot of Jacob watching. But no. And speaking of Jacob…

• Really? Jacob is just that guy? I’m not saying every important role requires stunt-casting, but after all the build-up, I was thinking we’d at least get Dean Stockwell or someone like that. (Actually, I was intrigued by the fan theory that Jacob would turn out to be Jack, but like many fan theories…not so much.) Jacob’s little Zelig trip through all the castaways lives was probably my least favorite aspect of the episode, although I did get a chuckle out of him engrossed in a book as Locke plummeted from the building behind him. And speaking of Locke…

• I also got a kick out of the fact that two straight season finales have climaxed with the reveal of Locke’s corpse. I was much less surprised the first time, I must admit. I’m not sure how I feel about Undead Locke turning out to be this character we never met before the finale started, but I’ll reserve judgment until next season. As others have pointed out, it is strangely satisfying to learn that Locke really was a deluded loser all along.

• Overall, I’d give the finale a thumbs-up. It was exciting for the most part, had some nicely timed revelations, and most importantly, we finally found out what happened to the dog. The final moments of Sawliet (or whatever the fans are calling Sawyer/Juliet) were downright riveting. I’m actually going to miss this show while it’s gone, which certainly hasn’t always been the case.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

